Rishabh Pant, giving spectators unforgettable moments – The Island

Top national boxers Sanjeewa Bandara Rajakaruna and Nadeeka Ranasinghe lived up to their reputations by winning the most scientific boxer titles in the male and female categories respectively at the 80th Layton Cup Boxing Championship held at the Royal MAS Arena.

Competing in the light welterweight (under 63.5kg) final, Sanjeewa edged out Navy’s DLPR Kumara. He received the Layton Cup which is awarded to the best boxer in the competition.

Vidyarathana SC boxer Nadeeka Ranasinghe defeated army soldier Sanduni Priyadarshani in the lightweight (under 48kg) final to be voted the best boxer in the Layton Cup.

The finalists of these two fights, namely Kumara and Priyadarshani, had the consolation of receiving the titles of best loser.

Police’s Gayan Prabath Rathnasiri knocked down 2019 South Asian Games gold medalist Rumesh Sandakelum in the light heavyweight (under 80kg) final.

The first major boxing competition organized by the Boxing Association of Sri Lanka after a gap of two years since the outbreak of the corona virus pandemic, the Layton Cup also served as the selection event for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games in 2022.

The winners received their prizes from the main guest, General Jagath Jayasuriya, former army commander and chairman of the boxing selection committee.



Super heavy weight (over 92 kg) –

ARBE Thilakarathna (Army) beat MWMM Meegasthenna (Air Force) WP (win on points) 5:0

Heavyweight (less than 92 kg) –

PARS Rupasingha (ArmY0 beats IDDSW Waidyarathna (Army) WP 3:2

Cruiser weight (less than 86 kg) –

YSP Sudamma (Army) beat HRCN Bandara (Army) WP 5:0

Light and heavy weight (less than 80 kg) –

HWWG Rathnasiri (Police) def WAR Sandakelum (Army) WP 4:1

Average weight (less than 75 kg) –

WMGKGI Ariyarathna (Navy) beats WGNC Wijenaga (Air Force) WP 5:0

Light middle weight (less than 71 kg) –

V Niklas (Army) def JAG Maduranka (Air Force) WP 5:0

Welterweight (Under 67kg) –

IPDC Udayakumara (Air Force) defeated PMLL Chandrabandara (Army (WP 4:1

Light welterweight (63.5 kg) –

RWMSB Rajakaruna (Army) defeats DLPR Kumara (Navy) 3:2

Light weight (less than 60 kg) –

NBAJ Wimukthi Kumara (Army) defeated PPS Siriwardhana (Army) WP 5:0

Featherweight (57kg) –

WRT Weerakkodi (Army) defeated TG Jinadasa (Kingswood BC) 3:2

Bantamweight (54kg) –

PAR Prasanna (Army) defeated KH Navoda (Navy) RSC (Referee Stopped Contest) R3

Flyweight (51kg) –

MVIRS Bandara (Army) def. RMP Dharmasena (Army) WP 4:1

Minimum weight (Less than 48 kg) –

MPG Sajeewa Nuwan (Army) defeated GPU Mihiran (Vidyarathena SC) WP 4:1


Light and heavy weight (less than 81 kg) –

KAGN Kaluarachchi (Air Force) defeats GGAM Jayasingha (Flexi) RSC R2

Featherweight (Less than 57kg) –

MPSS Cooray (Air Force) beat BU Sewwandi (Flexi) ABD (Dropped out) R2

Bantamweight (54kg) –

KKIT Perera (Air Force) def MGMT Dasunika (Army) WP 5:0

Light weight (less than 48 kg) –

RAN Pushpakumari (Vidyarathena SC) beat HS Priyadarshani (Army) WP 4:1

Previous How I use credit card rewards to fund my family's nomadic life
Next $200,000 credit card fraud • Coral Springs Talk